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PREAMBLE

This chapter is promulgated pursuant to authority contained in §28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia.
This chapter amends and re-adopts, as amended, previous Chapter 4 VAC 20-450-10 et seq., which
was adopted June 19, 2018 and effective July 1, 2018. The effective date of this chapter is May
1, 20109.

4 VAC 20-450-10. PURPOSE.

The purposes of this chapter are to manage the recreational harvest of bluefish and to establish a
commercial quota system for Virginia bluefish landings, in cooperation with the Mid-Atlantic
Fishery Management Council and the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission, to prevent
overfishing.

4 VAC 20-450-15. DEFINITIONS.
The following word or term when used in this chapter shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Bluefish” means any fish of the species Pomatomus saltatrix.

4 VAC 20-450-20. BLUEFISH POSSESSION LIMIT.

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with recreational hook and line, rod and reel,
spear, gig, or other recreational gear to harvest and possess more than 10 bluefish. Any
bluefish taken after the possession limit of 10 fish has been reached shall be returned to the
water immediately.

B. When fishing from a boat or vessel where the entire catch is held in a common hold or
container, the possession limit shall be for the boat or vessel and shall be equal to the
number of persons on board legally licensed to fish multiplied by 10. The captain or
operator of the boat or vessel shall be responsible for any boat or vessel possession limit.

4 VAC 20-450-30. COMMERCIAL LANDINGS QUOTA.

A. The commercial landings of bluefish shall be limited to 915,857 pounds during the current
calendar year.

B. When it is projected that 95% of the commercial landings quota has been realized, a notice
will be posted to close commercial harvest and landings from the bluefish fishery within
five days of posting.
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C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or land bluefish for commercial purposes
after the closure date set forth in the notice described in subsection B of this section.

4 VAC 20-450-40. PENALTY:

As set forth in §28.2-903 of the Code of Virginia, any person violating any provision of this chapter
shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor, and a second or subsequent violation of any provision
of this chapter committed by the same person within 12 months of a prior violation is a Class 1
misdemeanor.
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This is to certify that the foregoing is a true and accurate copy of the chapter passed by the Marine
Resources Commission, pursuant to authority vested in the Commission by § 28.2-201 of the Code
of Virginia and recorded in the Commission's minute book, at its meeting held in Hampton,
Virginia on April 23, 2019.

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION

BY: RUM ﬂ ﬁ /&AW
Steven G. Bowman V
Commissioner
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Subscribed and sworn to before me on this 26 day of April 2019.
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