

COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

Marine Resources Commission 2600 Washington Avenue Third Floor Newport News, Virginia 23607

Molly Joseph Ward Secretary of Natural Resources

John M.R. Bull Commissioner

-- For Immediate Release March 25, 2015

For Further Information Contact: Laurie Naismith 757-247-2268 757-508-1804

The Virginia Marine Resources Commission has decided to reduce the cost of recreational saltwater fishing licenses, effective April 1.

"Now is the time of year when saltwater anglers dust off their fishing gear and tune up their boats, and I'm pleased to announce the cost of a saltwater fishing license is going down," said Commissioner John M.R. Bull. "Anglers may want to wait a week to buy their licenses for the year, when the new, lower license fee goes in effect. This will save them at least \$5 each."

The Commission voted unanimously yesterday to roll back a license increase that was enacted in January because of a budget reduction. However, the new state budget passed several weeks ago gives the Virginia Marine Resources Commission sufficient funds to offset the budget reduction. As a result, the license increase is no longer necessary. While the new state budget goes into effect July 1, the Commission felt it was important to roll back the license increase now in order to save anglers money right away.

The cost of an individual recreational saltwater fishing license will drop from \$22.50 to \$17.50. A license to cover everyone on board a boat for a year will fall from \$53 to \$48. Other recreational saltwater licenses will decrease as well.

"Virginia is blessed with spectacular fishing opportunities and I'm sure recreational anglers are itching to put the grueling winter behind them and go catch some fish," Bull said. "And now they can do so without having to pay as much for a saltwater license."

Anglers and charter boat captains who bought their licenses in January, February or March at the higher fee are not eligible for partial refunds, under state law.

An Agency of the Natural Resources Secretariat www.mrc.virginia.gov Telephone (757) 247-2200 (757) 247-2292 V/TDD Information and Emergency Hotline 1-800-541-4646 V/TDD

Type of License	Current Fee	New Reduced Fee Effective April 1, 2015
Individual, Resident	\$22.50	\$17.50
Individual, Nonresident	\$30.00	\$25.00
Temporary 10-Day, Resident	\$15.00	\$10.00
Temporary 10-Day, Nonresident	\$15.00	\$10.00
Recreational boat, Resident	\$53.00	\$48.00
Recreational boat, nonresident	\$84.00	\$76.00
Head Boat/Charter Boat, Resident, 6 or less	\$224.00	\$190.00
Head Boat/Charter Boat, Nonresident, 6 or less	\$421.00	\$380.00
Head Boat/Charter Boat, Resident, more than 6	\$224.00	\$190.00
Head Boat/Charter Boat, Nonresident, more than 6	\$421.00	\$380.00
Rental Boat, Resident, per boat (maximum \$703)	\$19.00	\$14.00
Rental Boat, Nonresident (max \$1270)	\$23.00	\$18.00
Commercial Fishing Pier (Optional)	\$669.00	\$632.00
Residents, Combo F/SW	\$44.50	\$39.50
Nonresidents, Combo F/SW	\$76.00	\$71.00
Residents, Combo F/SW, 5- Day	\$28.00	\$24.00
Nonresidents, Combo F/SW, 5-Day	\$35.00	\$31.00
Residents, Tidal Boat Sport Fishing	\$131.00	\$126.00
Nonresidents, Tidal Boat Sport Fishing	\$206.00	\$201.00

#####