Volume 17, Issue 1

This newsletter provides only a summary of management measures adopted by the Commission and has no legal force or effect. The purpose of this newsletter is to explore events and issues of interest to commercial watermen, VMRC managers, Law Enforcement, researchers, and the Commission.

Volume 17, Issue 1 Winter 2009

Inside this issue: 1

Introduction	Page 1
Blue Crab Disaster Relief	Page 1
Fishing Guide License	Page 2
2009 Crab Pot Limits	Page 3
Blue Crab Latent Effort	Page 3
Compliance Hearings	Page 4
Pound Net Exemption	Page 5
Striped Bass Update	Page 5
Summer Flounder First Period Opening Notice	Page 6
Guidelines for Agents	Page 7
Certified Scales	Page 8
Online Reporting Up-	Page 8
List of Licensing Agents	Page 9
Mandatory Reporting Information and Exam-	Pages 10-13
Report from the Virginia Marine Product Board	Pages 14-15

Marine Product Board

Meetings

Page 16



WINTER 2009 ISSUE

This issue of Fisheries News includes updates on the blue crab, striped bass, and flounder fisheries, in addition to some important information about mandatory reporting and recent changes in VMRC regulations. Please see pages 10 through 13 for updated instructions and examples of mandatory reporting forms for 2009.



BLUE CRAB DISASTER RELIEF

The federal government has agreed to spend up to \$10 million over the next few years to help Virginia watermen impacted by cuts in the female crab harvest. It is intended as temporary help for crabbers as the blue crab fishery rebounds.

Before that money is released, however, the federal government requires a plan on how to spend the money. That plan currently is being prepared by state officials in Richmond, and should be submitted for consideration soon. The federal government may accept the entire plan, or only parts of it.

In the meantime, Virginia Marine Resources Commissioner Steven G. Bowman ordered some of VMRC's very limited funds to be spent to help those crabbers who were most impacted by the 2008 harvest cuts: dredgers who saw the winter dredge fishery closed.

VMRC agreed to put up the funds necessary to pay dredgers who meet certain criteria to participate in the Marine Debris Removal Program. As a result, 58 dredgers currently are working to remove derelict crab pots, also known as ghost pots, under the supervision of the Virginia Institute of Marine Science. The goal was to provide immediate help to those crabbers most impacted by the crab harvest cuts, to make sure they didn't have to wait for federal approval of the program. Other parts of the blue crab fishery disaster plan to be submitted to the federal government are intended to help other types of crabbers.



FISHING GUIDE LICENSE

On December 16, 2008, the Commission finalized Regulation 4 VAC 20-1180-10 Et. Seq., "Pertaining to Fishing Guide Licenses". The requirements for purchase of the charter/head boat vessel license and stickers have not changed. You must provide a copy of your U. S. Coast Guard license to carry passengers for hire (Captain's License) at the time of application for the Class A Fishing Guide License, the Class B Fishing Guide License, or the Fishing Guide Reciprocity Permit.

1) <u>The Class A Fishing Guide License</u> will be sold only to those individuals meeting certain criteria, and only this license will be considered for reciprocity with the Maryland Fishing Guide License. The license is \$100.00 per calendar year. You must purchase the license each year to remain eligible. If you purchase the Fishing Guide License at the same time as <u>your</u> charter/head boat license(s), the cost of <u>one</u> charter/head boat license will be reduced by \$100.00.

The limited entry criteria for a Class A Fishing Guide License is as follows:

- The applicant shall have purchased, as the licensee, a 2008 Virginia charter boat or head boat license before June 25, 2008; or
- The applicant shall have purchase, as the licensee, a 2006 and 2007 Virginia charter boat or head boat license; or
- The applicant can document that he has served as captain of a vessel for at least 30 days from January 1, 2006 through June 24, 2008, operating in Virginia waters, that was licensed as a Virginia charter boat or head boat and provides a certificate of insurance listing him as the captain of a Virginia charter boat or head boat or federal tax form W-2 or 1099 listing his income as the captain of a Virginia charter boat or head boat, during the period January 1, 2006 through June 24, 2008. An additional form of documentation of the 30-day service as captain may include evidence that the applicant is currently enrolled in a U. S. Coast Guard required random drug testing program.
- •NOTE: The review of this 3rd criteria may take up to 2 weeks to approve.

2) <u>The Class B Fishing Guide License</u> will be sold to any U. S. Coast Guard licensed captain, but will only be valid in Virginia waters under the jurisdiction of the Commission. The license is \$100.00 per calendar year. If you purchase the Fishing Guide License at the same time as your charter/head boat license(s), the cost of one charter/head boat license will be reduced by \$100.00.

3) <u>The Fishing Guide Reciprocity Permit will</u> be issued only to holders of the Maryland Fishing Guide License that wish to fish in Virginia waters operating under the Chesapeake Bay License Reciprocity Agreement. This permit is available at no cost. You must provide a copy of your current Maryland Fishing Guide License at the time of application.

For new applicants (no existing MRC ID# in the VMRC licensing system), additional information, such as a social security number, date of birth, height, weight, eye color, hair color, and contact information, will be required.

Forms for the "Transfer of a Class A Fishing Guide License", the "Waiting List for a Class A Fishing Guide License", and "New Applicants for a Fishing Guide License/Permit" will be available at <u>http://www.mrc.virginia.gov/forms/</u> or at the VMRC Main Office.

You must purchase your Class A or Class B Fishing Guide License or apply for the Fishing Guide Reciprocity Permit before a charter/head boat striped bass permit may be issued.

CRAB POT LICENSE LIMITS FOR 2009

As a continuation of the 2008 decision for the conservation and replenishment of the blue crab population, crab pot limits for 2009 reflect a 30% reduction from 2007 levels. The lawful crab pot license categories and crab pot limits, for the 2009 crab pot season, are as follows (see table below).

Hard Crab Pot License Type	Pots allowed by gear license before May 1, 2008	Pots allowed by gear license after May 1, 2008	Pots allowed by gear license during 2009
Crab Pot 100 or less	100	85	70
Crab Pot 150 or less	150	127	105
Crab Pot 200 or less	200	170	140
Crab Pot 300 or less	300	255	210
Crab Pot 500 or less	500	425	350
Peeler Pot	300	210	210

LATENT EFFORT CONTROL- BLUE CRAB POT FISHERY

To control latent effort in the blue crab fishery, the fisherman in any year or Commission recently voted to place harvesters with inactive crab pot or peeler pot licenses on a waiting list until the crab population recovers. fisherman in any year or crab license to another person shall forfeit his

Those registered commercial fishermen who were eligible from 2004 through 2008 for any crab pot or peeler pot licenses, but reported no harvest from 2004 through 2007, will be placed on a waiting list and shall be ineligible to purchase a crab pot or peeler pot license until the crab population recovers.

Those crab pot or peeler pot fishermen who reported harvest prior to the control date of December 17, 2007, from the crab dredge fishery, for both the 2005/06 and 2006/07 seasons, **shall remain eligible** to purchase their crab pot or peeler pot license for the lawful crabbing seasons of 2009 and 2010. Those fishermen who do not meet these conditions will remain on the waiting list until the Chesapeake Bay Winter Dredge Survey indicates that an abundance of 200 million age 1+ blue crabs has been attained in three consecutive, seasonal (December – March), surveys.

Any person receiving a crab license by lawful transfer in 2008 through 2010 also establishes his eligibility to purchase that specific license through 2010; however, any person either failing to register as a commercial fisherman in any year or lawfully transferring his crab license to another person shall forfeit his eligibility to purchase that specific crab license through 2010. Any registered commer-



cial fisherman may appeal the status of his license ineligibility to the Commission, provided he documents one of the following conditions:

- i) a health condition that prevented the registered commercial fisherman from harvesting any crabs during the 2004 through 2007 lawful crabbing seasons;
- ii) an active military service that prevented the registered commercial fisherman from harvesting any crabs during the 2004 through 2007 lawful crabbing seasons; or,
- iii) a substantial error in his Mandatory Harvest Reporting records.

Anyone registered as a commercial fisherman, who has documentation of these appeal conditions can mail copies of the documentation and a description of the appeal request to the VMRC.



COMPLIANCE HEARINGS

On June 20, 2008, the Commission notified 165 individuals that they were missing monthly Mandatory Harvest Reports from 2006, 2007, and early 2008. The 165 individuals were provided staff contacts to resolve the matter, as well as notice that if the issue were not resolved by August 8, 2008, then staff would proceed with a formal compliance hearing before the Commission. Of the original 165 individuals notified, 52 failed to resolve the matter of missing monthly Mandatory Harvest Reports by August 8, 2008, resulting in numerous compliance hearings before the Commission in recent months. Seven individuals were able to resolve the issue of missing reports to the satisfaction of the Commission and did not incur any penalty. Thirty-four individuals were placed on two years probation, during which time should they incur any violation of Regulation 610, or any other regulation passed by VMRC, or of any of the laws relating to the Marine Resources of the Commonwealth, they should appear before the Commission, and a suspension of their license will be recommended. In addition, all individuals placed on probation must have all missing reports resolved to the satisfaction of VMRC staff by February 28, 2009, or they will be denied their 2009 Commercial Registration License for the entire year, and similarly, if any missing reports are not resolved by February 28, 2010, the individual will be denied their 2010 Commercial Registration License for the entire year. Eight individuals failed to appear before the Commission after being notified of their hearing, and had their licenses suspended. Another three individuals are being sought and have had their 2009 licenses withheld.

It is vital that all commercial harvesters adhere to the Mandatory Harvest Reporting regulations, provide their monthly harvest reports on time, or notification that they did not fish during the month, no later than the 5th day of the following month. All

commercial harvesters are responsible for their own reporting, and it is strongly recommended that all commercial harvesters retain their copies of their Mandatory Harvest Reporting forms in a secure location.

Section 60 of Regulation 4 VAC 20-610-10 et seq., "Mandatory Harvest Reporting", describes the requirements of mandatory reporting for commercial fisherman. It is unlawful for any valid Commercial Fisherman Registration Licensee to fail to fully report their harvests and related information, as set forth in this regulation. Subsection 60.D states that registered commercial fishermen shall submit a monthly harvest report to the Commission no later than the 5th day of the following month. Subsection 60.F states that registered commercial fishermen not fishing during a month shall so notify the Commission no later than the 5th of the following month by postage paid postal card provided by the Commission or by calling the Commission's toll free telephone line (1-800-937-9247).



POUND NET EXEMPTION

On October 28, 2008, the Commission voted to grant additional time for a pound net license to go unused before the license is revoked for nonuse. This action, in response to weather events which damaged some pound nets in bay areas, waived the current requirements for pound net licensees to set and fish their pound nets in order to maintain a license and priority right associated with a pound net for the following year. This will allow any 2008 licensee to obtain the same license and location, for a pound net, in 2009. The previous version of Regulation 4 VAC 20-20-10 et seq. did not provide anyone exemptions in 2008. Previously, from 2004 through 2007, the Commission waived these requirements as Hurricane Isabel (2003) and Tropical Storm Ernesto (2005) disabled many pound net operations and made costly reconstruction efforts difficult.

ATTENTION STRIPED BASS PERMITTEES

Those wishing to transfer striped bass quota MUST set up an appointment to process the transaction prior to arriving to VMRC. This is to ensure that there will be a trained staff member available to help you with the transfer. If you do not have a pre-arranged appointment with staff, you may not have your transfer processed that day unless a transfer time slot, and staff, are available.. Please contact Mike Johnson (757) 247-2245 to schedule an appointment prior to traveling to the Newport News office.

In order to complete the transfer, both parties will need to bring a drivers license (or state ID), striped bass permits, any landings of striped bass which have not been turned into VMRC, and any unused tags.

If you need to get additional tags to fill your quota you will still need to call VMRC to set up an appointment. You can call to set up an appointment before you run out of tags. Items you will need to bring include your striped bass permit, a report of any landings that have not been submitted to VMRC, and any unused striped bass tags.

When reporting harvests to the mandatory reporting department, please remember to fill the mandatory reporting forms out completely to prevent any confusion regarding your landings.

- Be sure to list the number of tags you used for each daily report.
- If you sell striped bass to out-of-state buyer or retail to anyone who is not a Virginia licensed striped bass buyer, then you need to fill out a receipt for each transaction that involved more than 10 pounds of fish.
- <u>If fishing with another striped bass permittee, please be sure that you include whose tags and quota were used</u> for all of the striped bass landed. This can be done by using the proper MRC ID number for each individual landing report.
- <u>Please be sure to submit your reports on a timely basis, by the 5th of the following month. This includes having all of your reports to VMRC as soon as possible after the season ends to ensure that you will be eligible to pick up your tags for the following year before the season begins</u>. NOTE: For the 2009 season, 53 individuals failed to comply with this requirement, and will not have access to their striped bass permit, quota, or tags, prior to the February 1, 2009 commercials striped bass season opening.

REMEMBER: NO WALK-UP QUOTA TRANSFERS, YOU MUST HAVE AN APPOINTMENT SET PRIOR TO YOUR ARRIVAL, OR YOU MAY BE TURNED AWAY. CALL(757) 247-2245 FIRST FOR AN APPOINTMENT!



2009 FINAL SPECIFICATIONS FOR SUMMER FLOUNDER AND FIRST PERIOD OPENING NOTICE FOR VIRGINIA

NOAA Fisheries Service has announced the commercial quota and recreational harvest limits, for summer flounder, effective January 1, 2009. The coastwide summer flounder total allowable landing (TAL) is 15.77 million pounds. The commercial summer flounder quota allotment is 10,737,900 pounds. Virginia's commercial share (21.31676 %) is 2,288,972 pounds. Virginia's commercial summer flounder quota will be distributed, as described in Regulation 4 VAC 20@20@0 et seq. "Pertaining to Summer Flounder," as follows:

2009 Virginia Commercial Quota Allocation (21.317%)	2,288,972
Inshore Quota Allocation	300,000
Offshore Quota Allocation	1,988,972
First Period Offshore Quota *	1,406,203
Begins: Last Monday in February (February 23, 2009)	
Second Period Offshore Quota	582,769
Begins: First Monday in December (December 7, 2009)	

*See following provisions for directed and bycatch fishery during First Period.

Effective 12:01 A.M. Eastern Standard Time, Monday, February 23, 2009, Directed Virginia Offshore Summer Flounder fishery of the First Period will open.

- The cumulative possession limit for the First Period Directed Fishery is 12,500 pounds in each twelve-day landing period. The first twelve-day landing period will begin February 23, 2009, and end March 6, 2009. Subsequent landing periods will be subject to quota availability.
- When it is projected and announced that 85% of the First Period quota (1,195,273 pounds) has been taken, it shall be unlawful, for any person harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's waters, to possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of Summer Flounder, in excess of 10% by weight of all other landed species on board the vessel. Only vessels holding a valid Virginia Summer Flounder Endorsement License may possess Summer Flounder.
- Prior to Monday, February 23, 2009, it shall be unlawful, for any person harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's waters, to possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of Summer Flounder, in excess of 10% by weight of all other landed species on board the vessel.
- It shall be unlawful for a licensed seafood buyer or federally permitted seafood buyer to fail to contact the Marine Resources Commission Operation Station (757-247-2265 or 1-800-541-4646), prior to a vessel offloading Summer Flounder harvested outside of Virginia. The buyer shall provide to the Commission the name of the vessel and its captain and the anticipated or approximate offloading time.
- Once offloading of any vessel is complete and the total weight of the landed Summer Flounder has been determined, the buyer shall contact the Marine Resources Commission Operations Station and report the vessel name and corresponding total weight of Summer Flounder landed
- It shall be unlawful for any person to offload from a boat or vessel for commercial purposes any Summer Flounder during the period of 6:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m.

If you have questions or comments contact Joe Grist at (757) 247Q237 or Joe Cimino at (757) 247-8068.

If you wish to receive memos by email notifying you of when the Directed Virginia Offshore Summer Flounder Fishery will open and close, please email Joe Grist at Joe.Grist@mrc.virginia.gov with your company name and email ad-

GUIDELINES FOR SERVING AS AN AGENT

The following are the regulatory requirements (Section 30B of Regulation 4 VAC 20-610) for those individuals wishing to serve as an agent for a harvester with a Commercial Fisherman Registration License. For those wishing to serve as an agent in the crab fishery, agents approved during 2008 for the crab fishery are not valid for 2009, they must reapply prior to harvesting in the crab fishery. Please contact Suzanne Nestor (757) 247-2069 for crab fishery agent applications.

- No person, whose Commercial Fisherman Registration License or fishing gear license is currently revoked or rescinded by the Marine Resources Commission pursuant to §28.2-232 of the Code of Virginia, is authorized to possess the registration license of a commercial fisherman in order to serve as an agent for fishing the commercial fisherman's gear and selling the harvest.
- No commercial fisherman shall use more than one person as an agent at any time.
- Any person serving as an agent shall possess the Commercial Fisherman Registration License and gear license of the commercial fisherman while fishing.
- When transporting or selling a commercial fisherman's harvest, the agent shall possess either the Commercial Fisherman Registration License of that commercial fisherman or a bill of lading indicating that fisherman's name, address, Commercial Fisherman Registration License number, date and amount of product to be sold.
- Any person licensed to harvest blue crabs commercially shall not be eligible to also serve as an agent.
- Any person serving as an agent to harvest blue crabs for another licensed fisherman shall be limited to the use of only one commercial fisherman's crab license; however, an agent may fish multiple crab traps licensed and owned by the same person.
- There shall be no more than one person, per vessel, serving as an agent for a commercial crab licensee.
- Prior to using an agent in any crab fishery, the licensee shall register that person, with the Commission, and shall receive approval, for use of that agent, prior to the commencement of any harvesting activity.

HARVESTERS APPEAL THEIR PLACEMENT ON THE CRAB POT AND PEELER POT WAITING LISTS TO THE COMMISSION

On Tuesday, January 27, 2009, 57 harvesters appealed their placement on either the crab pot or peeler pot waiting lists. Regulation 4VAC20-1040, "Pertaining to Crabbing Licenses", provides that licensed crab pot and peeler pot fishermen who reported no harvest from that license from 2004 through 2007 shall not be eligible to purchase that license in 2009 and thereafter, but shall be placed on a waiting list. Individuals on the waiting list will remain ineligible for that license until the crab resource recovers to a specified level.

The same regulation establishes an appeals process whereby individuals can challenge their placement on the waiting list. Three conditions are described, any one of which must be met for a successful appeal: 1) a health condition that prevented harvesting in the 2004 - 2007 period, 2) active military service during 2004 – 2007, and 3) a substantial error in the appellant's harvest reports.

Based on the evidence provided through the appeal process, the Commission approved the removal of 30 harvesters from the crab pot waiting list and 22 harvesters from the peeler pot waiting list.

Page 8

CERTIFIED SCALES

On October 28, 2008, the Virginia Marine Resources Commission voted to require the use of a certified scale (Regulation 4 VAC 20-1170-10 et seq.), for determining the weight of fish, shellfish, or marine organisms that are regulated by a harvest weight limit or quota, possession weight limit, or landing weight limit. This regulation became effective December 1, 2008. On October 31, 2008, VMRC staff sent a letter out to all Virginia licensed seafood buyers that included a copy of the new regulation requiring the use of a certified scale. Any fish, shellfish, or marine organism that is under a harvest weight quota, possession weight quota, or landing weight quota are required to be measured by use of a certified scale. Some examples of weight quota managed fish include flounder, dogfish, striped bass, and weakfish. For more information about how to get



your weighing scales certified, please contact the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, the Weights and Measures office, at 804.786.2476.



WEB BASED-ONLINE REPORTING (UPDATE)

VMRC staff continues to move forward with efforts to provide a web-based online reporting application for the Mandatory Reporting Program. In discussions with staff, members of the oyster and clam aquaculture industry described their desire to move away from paper reporting methods to a web-based computer program that allows submission and review of their daily harvest reports. Development of such a program does not mean that VMRC will not except the traditional paper reporting methods, as we recognize not all commercial harvesters want to use a computer reporting system.

Already, staff has implemented online reporting systems for the charter boat fishery and a recreational fishing journal (<u>www.vasaltwaterjournal.com</u>). Currently, staff, in partnerships with volunteer members of the aquaculture industry, are using a developmental version of the online reporting system to identify any problems during data entry. Once staff has completed the developmental phase and trial runs of the webbased online reporting application for the Mandatory Reporting Program, it will be made available to the entire commercial industry.

ONLINE LICENSING AGENT LIST

Many VMRC permits and licenses are available through the Commercial Fishing Licensing System (CFLS). This system allows online agents throughout the state to issue, sell, and print licenses and permits. The following is a list of the VMRC licensing agents throughout the area. Most CFLS permits and licenses can be picked up at any of the locations below. Summer flounder permits and charter boat permits, however, can only be picked up from VMRC Operations.

VMRC Operations

30 Jefferson Avenue Newport News, VA 23607 757-247-2008

Maries Corner Store 3128 Erica Rd Montross, VA 22520 804-472-3907

Jetts Hardware 18425 Northumberland Hwy Reedville, VA 22539 804-453-5325

Holiday Marina 3143 Holiday Marina Rd Achilles, VA 23072 804-642-2528

Ocean Products Research 19 Butts Lane Diggs, VA 23045

804-725-3406

King's Marine Supplies

2798 Kings Creek Rd Hayes, VA 23072 804-642-4957

Harrow's Home Center Inc

PO Box 385 Saluda, VA 23149 (804) 758-5481

Cheriton Hardware Co P O Box 105 Cheriton, VA 23316 757-331-1540

Chincoteague Fisheries 4147 Main St Chincoteague, VA 23336 (757) 336-3039

Shore Auto & Supply Co Exmore, VA 23350 (309) 788-1918

Cindy Parks PO BOX 259 Tangier, VA 23440 757-891-2338

Long Bay Pointe Bait & Tackle 2109 W Great Neck Rd # 100 Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (757) 481-7517

Back River Market Inc 1250 Poquoson Ave Poquoson, VA 23662 (757) 868-4130

Ocean Products Research 100 S King St Hampton, VA 23669 757-722-4011

Sandy's Market 9 Main Street Wachapreague VA 2

Wachapreague, VA 23480 (757) 787-4660

C Tackle Shop 1821 E Little Creek Rd Norfolk, VA 23518 757-587-1003 **Cobbs Marina** 4524 Dunning Rd Norfolk, VA 23518 804-588-5401

Chesapeake Bait & Tackle 390 Battlefield Blvd S Chesapeake, VA 23322 757-547-3456 Butler's Self-Service 4084 Godwin Blvd Suffolk, VA 23434 757-255-4472

Ken's Field & Stream 3408 Kings Hwy Colonial Beach, VA 22443 804-224-7100

Dance's Sporting Goods 570 Southpark Blvd

Colonial Heights, VA 23834 804-526-8399

Tree Top Hunting and Fishing Supplies 6099 George Washington Memorial Hwy Gloucester, VA 23061 804-824-9400

Modrs Texaco 3000 King William West Point, VA 23181 804-843-2433



1-800-LINE INFORMATION



The VMRC 1-800 line (1-800-937-9247) is available for harvesters to report no activity, immediate harvest information for required species (such as black sea bass, horseshoe crabs, spiny dogfish, and American shad bycatch), request forms and folders, and to leave messages for license information. When using the 1-800-line, please remember to provide the last 4 digits of your commercial fishing registration license number and your name. If you are providing information for multiple watermen, please speak each name and commercial registration license number slowly. Listen carefully to the recording for the correction option and required information that you must provide.

PUBLIC OYSTER REPORTING TIPS

When reporting oyster harvest from public oyster grounds, please remember to put the rock abbreviation from the rock list provided in the supplies packet from the VMRC. Please see example on facing page (third ticket). Also, please be sure to include the alphabetical abbreviation for water body (not numerical) harvested. See facing page (third ticket).

AQUACULTURE REPORTING TIPS

Please be sure to include the <u>lease number</u> (not the plate number) of the leased aquaculture grounds when filling out your mandatory report forms. This number can be found on your billing statement from the VMRC.

MANDATORY HARVEST REPORTING STATUS LETTERS

Commercial Fishermen please remember that as part of the Mandatory Reporting Program, harvest reports are due by the 5th of every month. If you are not fishing, you must also report no activity by the same date. Our system does not automatically enter inactivity. Inactivity is manually entered, and we must be contacted to enter no activity for months you do not work, after the commercial fishing registration license is printed, as stated in the letter you receive with your CFRL. Twice yearly, a status letter is sent to all commercial fishermen regarding their reporting history. A status letter may be sent monthly to those fishermen who fail to report by the 5th of the month. In order to avoid receiving these letters please turn your harvest and no activity reports in on time.

HARVEST REPORTING GUIDELINES

ALL REPORTS DUE BY THE 5TH OF THE FOLLOWING MONTH (ACTIVE OR NOT ACTIVE)

YOU MUST HAVE A COMMERCIAL LICENSE FOR AT LEAST TWO MONTHS BEFORE YOU CAN REPORT NO ACTIVITY

Revised 11/15/07 kck

▼VMRC ID AND NAME ALL HARVESTERS	WATER FISHED	HMS GEAR FISHED	GEAR	GEAR AMT	MAN HRS	NO. OF CREW
9999	OVB	24	AGN	1X1200'	5	2
Joe Fisherman	SPECIES & MARKET	T CATEGORY		LIVE WT OR AMT	< IF PRCD	PRICE
9876	SPMAC			50 LBS		
Mary Fisherman	TRO			91 LBS		
VESSEL NAME VESSEL NO.	1					
Virginia VA0000AA	PUFT			80 LBS	×	
Joe Buyer Fisherman County	BFR			10 LBS		
VLEASE NUMBER OR PUB ROOK ABER (OYS)	CRM			90 LBS		
DATE (ONE PER TOOLET) January 10, 2009						

◆VMRC ID AND NAME ALL HARVESTERS	JRL HIS GEAN	POT	350	6	crew 2
	SPECIES & MARKET CATEGORY		LIVE WTOR ANT	IF PRCD	PRICE
	N01		3 BU		
VESSEL NAME VESSEL NO.	BCS		2 BU		
VESSEL NAME VESSEL NU.	BSP		3 NU		
Joe Crabbuyer / Fisherman County					
BUYER & CITY/COUNTY LANDED					
VLEASE NUMBER OR PUB ROCK ABBR (CYS)					
January 11, 2009					

◆VMRC ID AND NAME ALL HARVESTERS	PIA	FISHED 7	OSCR	GEAN AMP	8	ND. OF CREW 2
	SPECIES & MARKE	T CATEGORY		LIVE WTOR AWT	< IF PRCD	PRICE
	OYSPRNG			10 BU		
VESSEL NAME VESSEL NO.						
Joe Oysterbuyer / Fisherman County +BUYER & CITY/COUNTY LANDED						
PLEASE NUMBER OR PUB ROCK ASER (OYS) Rock ABCD						
January 12, 2009						

IF IPROD = The live weight or amount column is actually process of weight (e.g. catrish fillets, puffer talk, gatted fish, etc.) "Complete ALL information on the first ticket of each "4 ticket" form; duplicate information on the following three tickets can be left blank.

(BLUE OR BLACK INK ONLY)

000001

VMRC COPY

LIST ALL COMMERCIAL REGISTRATION AND/OR AQUACULTURE LICENSE NUMBERS

LIST NAMES OF ALL LICENSED COMMERCIAL FISHERMAN (Full legal name, including helpers full legal name)

NAME OF VESSEL, IF APPLICABLE (Do not list the vessel make or model. (e.g. Carolina Skiff, Sea Ox, Privateer)

VESSEL NUMBER (Coast Guard Document #, VA State Registration, or Hull Number)

USE ABBREVIATIONS LISTED IN ENCLOSED PACKAGE YOU RECEIVED. (For public oyster only)

NAME OF BUYER (If selling to several buyers or selling to the public, write "RETAIL". If keeping for personal use write "PERSONAL USE")

CITY OR COUNTY (Where harvest was first offloaded from the vessel)

ASSIGNED VMRC LEASE NUMBER (For Aquaculture license only)

SPECIAL PERMIT INFORMATION (e.g. Black Drum, Striped Bass, etc...)

DATE (Date Harvest Taken From Water, one day per ticket. <u>DO NOT COMBINE DAYS</u>, PLEASE REMEMBER ALL DATES)

WATER BODY (Main water body where gear was worked, <u>ONLY ONE WATER BODY PER TICKET</u>)

GEAR (Specify type of gear used, one gear per day per ticket. <u>DO NOT COMBINE GEAR</u> on the same ticket)

GEAR HOURS (Amount of time gear is in the water or grow out period, (g.o.p. for Aquaculture Only, see **Note** at the bottom))

GEAR AMOUNT (e.g. Number and total length of nets, number of pots, number and total length of dredge, number of cages)

MAN HOURS (Amount of time it takes to leave the dock, fish, and get back to the dock – in one day; do not multiply by helpers!)

NUMBER OF CREW (Total number of people harvesting species on the vessel, including yourself; This number will always be at least 1)

WHAT SPECIES WAS HARVESTED (Please be specific, for example; SPMAC or KMAC not just MACKEREL)(Clams or oysters, list if private or public grounds)

HOW MUCH WAS HARVESTED (Include unit of measure, e.g. lbs, bu, nu, bbl, cart, etc...)

PUT A $\sqrt{MARK IF HARVEST WAS PROCESSED}$ (If the weight given is for processed weight, please check the box, e.g. filleted, gutted, picked, puffer tails, fins, etc.)

OYSTER (Identify Rock Abbreviation, lease number/billing number)

PRICE (Optional)





SI.

Complete ALL information on the first ticket of each "four ticket" form. On the other three tickets, you may put the date, species, and amount harvested unless you have any changes in the water fished, hours gear fished and worked, gear amount and type, and the number of crew. If any of those changes occur, then you must note the changes on each new ticket. Please refer to the inside covers of the folder for appropriate abbreviations. Put daily catch records in the pocket of the monthly report folder. Fill out monthly summary on inside cover of folder and put signature on the bottom.



Note

Grow out period = Seed to Market



REPORTING PROBLEMS ILLUSTRATION

↓ COMMERCIAL REGISTRATION#	WATER FISHED	HRSGEAR FISHED	GEAR	GEAR AMOUNT	MAN HOURS	NO.OF CREW _CAN'T BE
987654-9999	CBLW	24	AGN POT	1 X 1200' ✓ 300	24	04 LESS THAN1
JOE FISHERMAN	SPECIES & MARKE DON'T COMBI			LIVE WEIGHT OR AMOUNT	✓ IF PRCD	CAN'T WORK 24
123456-9876	<u>тіскет</u> 1/2/07- 1/0	2/07		125 LBS		HOURS A DAY BOX FOR
MARY FISHERMAN	PUFT	5/07		120 LD3		PROCESSED WEIGHT
DON'T COMBINE DAYS ON SAME TICKET	1/9/07-1/1 BLC	3/07		220 (LBS, BU, NU?)		
VESSEL NAME and VESSEL NO. Rock Abbr (0)S) VIR GINLA BOAT VA0000AA	1/17/07-1/		SPANISH OR KING?	80 LBS		UNIT OF MEASURE
JOE BUYER FISHERMAN COUNTY	MACKER	EL"	<u>BE</u> SPECIFIC			HODGEGHOEG ADE
↑BUYER & CITY/COUNTY LANDED	HOR			10 NU ┥ 🦳 🚽		HORSESHOES ARE LISTED IN NUMBERS.
	LIST HORSES					
→SPECIAL PERMIT INFO. /LEASE NO. (OYS)/BILLING NO. (OYS)						
DATE JANUARY 10, 2009						



FREQUENT REPORTING PROBLEM DESCRIPTIONS



COMBINING DAYS (Report only one day per ticket)

COMBINING GEARS (Report only one gear per ticket)

MISSING OR INCORRECT VESSEL NUMBER (Very important information, don't leave blank)

MISSING BUYER (Very important, don't leave blank. If selling to several buyers or selling to the public, write "RETAIL". If keeping for personal use write "PERSONAL USE")

INCORRECT GEAR AMOUNT (Report actual gear amount used, not necessarily the exact amount licensed for

example. If you are licensed for 300 pots, but only fished 100 that day, then only report 100)

24 MAN HOURS (Amount of time it takes to leave the dock, fish, and get back to the dock- in one day)

CREW NUMBER = 0 is incorrect! (Must equal at least 1 because the crew number includes the captain as well as everyone else on the vessel)

GENERALIZED SPECIES (Must be specific. e.g. Mackerel (Spanish or king), Shad (Gizzard or Hickory))

MISSING UNIT OF MEASURE (Must specify lbs, bu, nu, bbl, cart, etc...)

√ IF PRCD (Must check box if the harvest weight is for a fish that has been processed first, then weighed, e.g. puffer tails, shark fin, roe, or black drum)

REPORTING SHARK IN NUMBERS (Sharks must be reported in pounds, not numbers. There is no accurate conversion from numbers to pounds for sharks)

REPORTING SHED CRABS (Only report peeler and soft crabs caught in pots, do not report crabs that are shed in tanks)

REPORTING HORSESHOE CRABS (Must be reported by number and sex per Regulation 4 VAC 20-900)



New Virginia Seafood Lover License Plate to Benefit Seafood Marketing

The Virginia Marine Products Board announces the new Virginia Seafood Lover license plate. This proposed special interest license plate depicts a few of the many seafood species harvested from the Bay and its tributaries and represents Virginia's seafood industry, one of the oldest industries in the United States and one of the Commonwealth's largest.

The Virginia Seafood Lover license plate is being introduced to support the marketing that is necessary to keep Virginia in the top three largest producers of marine products in the nation, and to help in promoting the aquaculture industry of clams, oysters, and fish. In order for the plate to be released in 2010, 350 prepaid applications must be received by the Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). After 1,000 tags are sold, \$15 of each annual plate renewal will benefit the marketing efforts for Virginia seafood.

Virginia Marine Products Board members are the driving force behind the development of the Virginia Seafood Lover license plate. Its members want to promote the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries, our watermen, our seafood industry, and our developing aquaculture farmers.

The new Seafood Lover license plate has deep roots throughout the Commonwealth. The artwork was contributed by artist Michael Skinner, formerly of Onancock, and the plate was designed by Caroline Teeling, art director at Blue Crab Bay Co.

Applications are available at locations throughout the Commonwealth and at several Eastern Shore locations including Don's Restaurant in Chincoteague, Susan's Seafood in Mappsville, Mallards at the Wharf in Onancock, Edwards Seafood in Onley, Blue Crab Bay in Melfa, Island House Restaurant in Wachapreague, Great Machipongo Clam Shack in Nassawadox, Nottingham Seafood in Cheriton, J.H. West Seafood in Townsend and Watson Hardware in Cape Charles. Applications and more information are also available online at <u>www.virginiaseafood.org/licenseplate</u>.



Virginia Marine Products Board 554 Denbigh Blvd., Suite B Newport News, VA 23608 Tel: 757-874-3474 Fax: 757-886-0671 www.virginiaseafood.org

For more information, please contact Joe Cardwell at the Virginia Marine Products Board, 757-874-3474 or Eastern Shore Press Contact Pam Barefoot, 787-3602 x128

Volume 17, Issue 1

Page 15



FISH EYE VIEW E-NEWS

periodic industry publication of the Virginia Marine Products Board



Where Do I Pick Up the "Virginia Seafood Lover" Application?

Allisons Ace Hardware 3010 Northumberland Highway Lottsburg, VA 22511 Contact: Nancy Fisher 804-529-7528

Bayside Bait & Tackle 4461 Shore Drive Virginia Beach, VA 23445

B & C Seafood, Inc. 205 Jefferson Ave. Newport News, VA 23607

Big John's Convenience Churchview, VA 23032 804-758-0718

Bobby's Marine Service 901 Jessie Dupont Memorial Highway Burgess, VA 22432 Contact: Bobby Jones 804-453-7541

C-Tackle 1821 E. Little Creek Road Norfolk, VA 23518

Callao Supply Company 409 Northumberland Highway Callao, VA 22435 Contact: Phillip Deitz 804-529-6265

Cap'N Reds Seafood Kilmarnock, VA 22482 Contact: Red Cornwell 804-435-9070

Dockside Restaurant 1787 Castlewood Drive Colonial Beach, VA 22443 804-224-8726 F & M Marine 7192 Lewis B. Puller Highway

Mattaponi, VA 23110 Contact: Dick Myers 877-785-9544

Grafton Fishing Supply & Seafood 8429 George Washington Memorial Highway Grafton, VA 23692

Hoss's Seafood Deli 806 Old Oyster Point Road Newport News, VA 23602

Islander Hardware & Sporting Goods 462 Wythe Creek Road Poquoson, VA 23662 Contact: Roger Crowley Tel: 757-868-8467

J & W Seafood of Virginia, Inc. 14552 General Puller High-

way Deltaville, VA 23043 Contact: Kevin Wade

Jett's Hardware

18425 Northumberland Highway Reedville, VA 22539 Contact: Robert Wilkins 804-453-5325

Keeper's

Route 17 Saluda, VA 23149 Contact: Rodney 804-758-5720

Lamberth, Inc. White stone, VA Contact: James Whitaker 804-435-1695 Lenny's Restaurant 301 Colonial Ave. Colonial Beach, VA 22443 804-224-9675

Lilian Lumber True Value Home Center Burgess, VA 22432 804-453-4911

Lynnhaven Fishing Co. 3323 Shore Drive Virginia Beach, VA 23451 Contact: Mark

Matthews Lawn & Garden, Inc.

9306 Buckley Hall Rd Matthews, VA 23109 Contact: Ricky Tomlinson 804-725-5555

Mid Atlantic Marine Warsaw, VA 22572 Contact: Warren Nowlan 804-333-9255

Middlesex Lawn & Garden 5730 Puller Highway, Rt. 33 Locust Hill, VA 23092 804-758-2596

Ocean's East 2 Tackle Shop 5785 Northampton Blvd., Suite 104 Virginia Beach, VA 23455

Pearson's Seafood 610 Colonial Ave. Colonial Beach, VA 22443 Contact: Allen 804-347-0203

Piankatank River Golf Club & Steamboat Restaurant 6198 Stormont Road Hartfield, VA 23071 Contact: Tom West 804-776-6589 R.W.'s Sport Shop

1434 Northumberland Highway Callao, VA 22435 804-529-5634

Southern States & Ace Hardware Moughon's, Inc. Matthews, VA 23109 804-725-2600

Sports Marine 1071 J. Clyde Morris Blvd. Newport News, VA 23602

Urbanna Builder's Supply Saluda, VA 23149 Contact: Matt 804-758-5347

Urbanna Auto & Marine Sales, Inc. Urbanna, VA 23175

Vanasse Bait & Tackle 28 Dandy Point Road Hampton, VA 23664 Contact: Allen Vanasse

804-642-4940

York River & Feed & Fishing Supplies 2066 George Washington Memorial Highway Gloucester Point, VA 23062 Contact: Chuck Ashe

MEETINGS

- VMRC <u>Virginia Marine Resources Commission</u> Meetings set on the 4th Tuesday of each month. Meetings begin at 9:30am. (fisheries items begin at 12:00 noon), and are held at the Commission's main office in Newport News.
- ASMFC <u>Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission</u> Call (202) 452-9110 to find out meeting dates, location and time.
- BCMAC <u>Blue Crab Management Advisory Committee</u> Meeting dates and sites vary. Refer to VMRC website calendar for meeting updates.

http://mrc.virginia.gov/calendar.shtm

FMAC – <u>Finfish Management Advisory Committee</u> – Meeting dates vary. Refer to VMRC website calendar for meeting updates.

http://mrc.virginia.gov/calendar.shtm

- MAFMC <u>Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council</u> Call (302) 674-2331 for meeting dates, location and time.
- CFAB Commercial Fishery Advisory Board Contact Sonya Davis (757) 247-8155 for information.



COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION

ADDRESS CORRECTION REQUESTED