
 

RECREATIONAL BLUE CRAB REGULATIONS 

 

 

 
All information provided below is summarized from the Code of Virginia and VMRC 
Regulations. Please refer to the Code sections and Regulations cited for legal 
documentation. All regulations are subject to change.  

Licensing Information 

The following activities do not require a license in Virginia [Code 28.2-226]: 

• Taking by dip net, hand line (e.g. “chicken necking”), or up to two commercial-style crab 
pots as much as one bushel of hard crabs and two dozen peeler crabs in any one day for 
personal use.  

• Using one tank or float no greater than 4 feet in width and 8 feet in length for shedding 
crabs for personal use. 

The use of the following gears requires a license for “recreational use of commercial gear”. 
Each of these licenses shall be issued to an individual for their exclusive use [Code 28.2-226.2, 
4VAC20-670-20]:  

• One crab trap or pound ($6.00) 
o Note: The crab trap licensed in Virginia is a fixed gear similar to a pound net. 

This gear must be approved by Marine Law Enforcement. Only one crab trap 
license may be purchased per individual. 

• Crab trotline up to 300 feet ($10.00) 
• 3 to 5 recreational crab pots with ($36.00) or without ($46.00) terrapin excluder device  

o Only one of either license may be purchased per individual. 
• Cast net ($10.00) or covered by Saltwater Recreational Fishing License 

Buying a License 

• The licenses listed above can be purchased at the following locations:   
o MRC Licensing Agents (Locate Agent) 
o DGIF agents (Locate Agent) 
o Mail-in purchase can be arranged by calling (757) 247-2265 
o Crab pound/trap licenses can only be bought from Operations & MPO field 

offices (Map) 

To use a rod-and-reel requires a Saltwater Recreational Fishing License, unless exempted. 
Saltwater Recreational Fishing Licenses may only be purchased from DGIF. (Purchase license 
HERE or see more license info HERE) 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title28.2/chapter2/section28.2-226/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title28.2/chapter2/section28.2-226.2/
https://mrc.virginia.gov/regulations/fr670.shtm
https://mrc.virginia.gov/mrcagents.shtm
https://license.gooutdoorsvirginia.com/Licensing/LocateAgent.aspx
https://mrc.virginia.gov/map_mrcagents.shtm
https://www.dgif.virginia.gov/licenses/
https://www.mrc.virginia.gov/regulations/recfishh&l_licensing.shtm


 

Seasons 

Up to 2 crab pots March 17 – November 30 
Licensed 3-5 crab pots June 1 – September 15  
Crab trotline or pound/trap April 1 – October 31 
Hand line, collapsible recreational traps, cast net All year 

 

It is unlawful for any person to place, set, or fish or knowingly leave any hard crab pot or peeler 
pot in any Virginia tidal waters from December 1 through March 16. 

 

Possession Limits 

All recreational crabbing is limited to 1 bushel of hard crabs and 2 dozen peeler crabs per person 
or per vessel per day. When fishing from a vessel, the vessel limit is 1 bushel and 2 dozen 
peelers regardless of how many people are on board. When crabbing from land, the limits apply 
to each individual. [Code 28.2-226, 4VAC20-670-25] 

The “bushel” is a volumetric measurement, roughly equal to 40 pounds. 

 

Size Limits  

(As measured from tip-to-tip of the longest spikes)  

 

 

 

Hard Crabs 
Male 5 inches  

Code 28.2-708 Immature female 5 inches 
Mature female No size limit 

Peeler Crabs 
March 17-July 15 3 ¼ inches 

4VAC20-270-55 July 16-November 30 3 ½ inches 
Seaside Eastern Shore 3 ¼ inches 

Softshell Crabs  3 ½ inches 
 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title28.2/chapter2/section28.2-226/
https://mrc.virginia.gov/regulations/fr670.shtm
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title28.2/chapter7/section28.2-708/
https://mrc.virginia.gov/regulations/fr270.shtm


 

Male “Jimmy”: Washington Monument 

Female “Sook”: US Capitol 

 

Sponge Crabs 

 
From March 17 through June 15, you can only keep bright orange sponge crabs (1-5 above). All 
brown to black sponge crabs must be returned to the water (6-15 above). 

From June 16 through March 16, you can keep any sponge crabs [4VAC20-370-20]. 

https://mrc.virginia.gov/regulations/fr370.shtm


Why? Bright orange crabs are less likely to survive if thrown back. The darker crabs will release 
their eggs sooner than the lighter crabs (the color darkens as the eggs develop), so they’re 
hardier. Many people choose to return all sponge crabs to the water as a conservation measure. 

 

Gear Marking 

Buoys of any crab pot or crab trotline, and an offshore stake of any crab pound/trap, used for 
recreational purposes, shall be marked legibly with the last 4 numbers of the licensee's social 
security number or driver's license number, preceded with the letter "R"; these figures must be at 
least 1 inch in height. [4VAC20-670-40].   

 

Other Crabbing and Crab Gear Regulations 

It is illegal to: 

• Use more than 5 crab pots per licensee recreationally [4VAC20-670-30]. 
• Fish 3-5 pots with the 5 pot license on Sundays [4VAC20-670-30] 
• Crab recreationally within Virginia Blue Crab Sanctuary Area 1A from June 1 through 

September 15, in Sanctuary Area 1B from May 16 through September 15, and in 
Sanctuary Area 3 from May 9 through September 15. For GPS coordinates of the 
sanctuaries, see 4VAC20-752. {MAP}. 

A recreational crab pot must have at least two unobstructed cull rings at least 2 3/8 inches inside 
diameter cull rings located one each in opposite exterior side panels of the upper chamber of the 
pot [4VAC20-700-20]. 

On the seaside of Accomack & Northampton Counties, each pot must have two cull rings: one 
cull ring at least 2 5/16 inches inside diameter and another at least 2 3/16 inches inside diameter 
located one each in opposite exterior side panels of the upper chamber of the pot [4VAC20-700-
20]. 

Each crab pound/trap must have at least four unobstructed cull rings of at least 1 1/2 inch inside 
diameter, located two each under water in the lower portion of two opposite side panels 
(perpendicular to the shoreline) of the retention box [4VAC20-460-50]. 

Any law or regulation applying to the setting or fishing of crab pound/traps or crab trot lines 
shall also apply when those gears are set or fished for recreational purposes [4VAC20-670-30]. 

 

Recreational Reporting 

Any person catching finfish or shellfish using a licensed recreational gillnet, cast net, dip net, 5 
crab pots, crab trap, crab trotline, or eel pot must report harvest annually to the Commission 

https://mrc.virginia.gov/regulations/fr670.shtm
https://mrc.virginia.gov/regulations/fr670.shtm
https://mrc.virginia.gov/regulations/fr670.shtm
https://webapps.mrc.virginia.gov/public/maps/chesapeakebay_map.php
https://mrc.virginia.gov/regulations/fr700.shtm
https://mrc.virginia.gov/regulations/fr700.shtm
https://mrc.virginia.gov/regulations/fr700.shtm
https://mrc.virginia.gov/regulations/fr460.shtm
https://mrc.virginia.gov/regulations/fr670.shtm


[4VAC20-670-10]. You can report online through the Virginia Saltwater Journal or by mailing in 
paper forms found here. 

 

For more information on Recreational Use of Commercial Gear, see 4VAC20-670-10. 

For more information on crab traps and pounds, see 4VAC20-460-10.  

For more information on the blue crab fishery, see 4VAC20-270-55. 

 

Crabbing in Maryland and the Potomac River 

Maryland recreational regulations: https://dnr.maryland.gov/fisheries/Pages/regulations/blue-
crab.aspx 

Potomac River recreational regulations (includes map of jurisdictions on and around the Potomac 
River): http://prfc.us/fishing_potomac.html 

 

Definitions 

Jimmy: A male hard crab with a narrow apron on the abdomen. 

Sook: A mature female hard crab with a semicircular apron. 

Sponge crab: An adult female hard crab which has extruded her eggs on the abdomen or 
abdominal flap.  The egg mass or "Sponge" may contain about 2 million eggs. 

Peeler crab: Any crab with a soft shell fully developed under the hard shell.  A white, pink, or 
red line on the outer section of the "backfin" is an indicator. 

Softshell crab: A crab which has recently emerged from its old shell.  The new shell is soft and 
tender. 

 

Last Updated: 4/10/2020 

 

https://mrc.virginia.gov/regulations/fr670.shtm
https://www.vasaltwaterjournal.com/
https://mrc.virginia.gov/Forms/2019/2019_recform.pdf
https://mrc.virginia.gov/regulations/fr670.shtm
https://mrc.virginia.gov/regulations/fr460.shtm
https://mrc.virginia.gov/regulations/fr270.shtm
https://dnr.maryland.gov/fisheries/Pages/regulations/blue-crab.aspx
https://dnr.maryland.gov/fisheries/Pages/regulations/blue-crab.aspx
http://prfc.us/fishing_potomac.html

